Ohio Bluebird Society, The Holden Arboretum, 9500 Sperry Road, Kirtland, OH 44094    440.462.9084    info@ohiobluebirdsociety.org


Preliminary efforts leading to the creation of The Ohio Bluebird Society took place in the mid-1980s. Not long after, the Society founders acted to create the prestigious Blue Feather Award. This award was intended to honor an OBS member and was given in recognition of that individual's extraordinary accomplishments in all areas of Bluebird conservation and management. This would be a person who over time had made the OBS mission statement their very own. The areas of contribution would include, but not be limited to, effective trail management; unique creativity; and innovation supporting the return and perpetuation of the Eastern Bluebird and other native cavity-nesting birds.

List of Recipients

1991    Arlene Kunkel - Fredericktown
1992    Joe Huber - Heath
1993    Dick Tuttle - Delaware
1994    Dr. Wayne Davis - Lexington, KY
1995    Andrew Troyer - Conneautville, PA
1996    Bill and Joan Davis - Dayton
1997    Robert Orthwein - Columbus
1998    Mary Kowalchik - Mansfield & Darlene Sillick - Dublin
1999    Tom Kashmer - Fremont
2000    Lum and Meriam Bourne - Westerville
2001    Julie Zickefoose - Whipple
2002    Gil Trail - Mansfield
2003    Mel and Mary Ellen Bolt - Wooster
2004    Doug LeVasseur - Senecaville
2005    John Lapin - Poland
2006    Jean Rutan - Mechanicsburg
2007    D. Michael Worley - New Marshfield
2011    Earl Carlton - Carrollton
2012    Dean Sheldon - Greenwich
2013    Allen and Nina Bower - Britton, Michigan
2014    Fred Nye - Alvada
2015   Marcella Hawkins - Brinkhaven
2016   Tom Barber - Cambridge

2017   Jim Coffman - Tiffin